français   [english ]
Lagerfeld Confidentiel - un film de Rodolphe MarconiLagerfeld Confidentiel - un film de Rodolphe Marconi

pro


press

downloads

[ production notes ]

Lagerfeld Confidentiel is an untypical film because of its exceptional conditions. Karl Lagerfeld  immediately had confidence in the young director. Furthermore the production has given him the whole freedom and resources to carry out the project at its best and without institutional financing.

Karl Lagerfeld perfectly controls his image et one can ask whether a director would succeed in conceiving the personality of this image-guru.
This feature film is not just another film about fashion or “appearances”. But Rodolphe Marconi isn’t a polemic and rejects the style of television investigations. He offers with “Lagerfeld Confidential” a precise and sensitive approach as an artist.

Marconi demonstrates with “Lagerfeld Confidential” his instinct, sensibility and originality. He offers an unexpected and poetic approach as an artist. He demonstrates a delicate and subtle touch by deconstructing the documentary style and the conventions of portraiture; he chooses not to be polemical; he will show no insolence or disrespect. He rejects the style of television investigations and concentrates on what he feels as an artist about the Lagerfeld legend. Rodolphe therefore seems to support the thoughts, taste, and sense of humour or philosophy of the fashion icon. He is however never complaisant and his fascination doubles with his own personnel judgement.

Rodolphe Marconi does not apply the documentary demonstration techniques; instead, he allows the viewer to decide for himself. He « extends » the subject without retention, he shares all facets of his life.
He shows very clearly how much the master controls his image; Karl Lagerfeld reveals his multiple surfaces:

“I don’t want to be a reality in people’s life, I want to be like an apparition”.

Lagerfeld Confidential is a « mise en abîme » of the documentary and the portrait. It interrogates the contemporary cinema, capable of oscillating between his two extremes: reality image and the fashion image. 

Karl Lagerfeld’s hidden faces have to be skimmed over and we will be moved. They can never be revealed. His life is a work of art: he has created an image … and has merged with it.

[ français ]   english
Lagerfeld Confidentiel - un film de Rodolphe MarconiLagerfeld Confidentiel - un film de Rodolphe Marconi

Pro


Presse

Téléchargements

[ Notes de production ]

Lagerfeld Confidentiel est un film atypique car il est né et a grandi dans des conditions exceptionnelles. Karl Lagerfeld a décidé immédiatement de faire confiance à un jeune réalisateur. Puis la production lui a donné les moyens et la liberté de mener son projet à terme sans financement institutionnel.

Karl Lagerfeld contrôle parfaitement son image et on se demande si un réalisateur fera le poids face à ce gourou de l’image. Une partie du public attend quelque chose de sensationnel ou d’indécent mais Rodolphe Marconi n’est pas un polémiste ou un journaliste d’investigation. Il propose au contraire une démarche d’artiste avec un regard précis et sensible.

Rodolphe Marconi fait la preuve avec « Lagerfeld Confidentiel » de son instinct, de sa sensibilité et de son originalité. Il propose une approche artistique surprenante et poétique ; Il prend à contre-pied les ficelles classiques du documentaire ; il refuse la polémique, l’insolence ou l’irrespect. Il réfute le style d’investigation télévisuelle pour se concentrer sur son propre sentiment artistique face à la légende Lagerfeld. Rodolphe semble donc épouser les pensées, les goûts, l’humour, et la philosophie de l’icône de la mode. Il n’est pourtant jamais complaisant et sa fascination se double d’un jugement aiguisé.

Rodolphe évite la démonstration documentaire, pour permettre au spectateur de lire entre les lignes. Il « s’allonge » sans retenue sur son sujet, il partage toutes les facettes de sa vie. Il montre avec acuité la maîtrise de son image par le maître, ses multiples surfaces :

« Je ne veux pas être une réalité dans la vie de gens, je veux être comme une apparition ».

Lagerfeld Confidentiel met en abîme le style documentaire et les conventions du portrait. Il interroge le cinéma contemporain, capable d’osciller entre ses deux extrêmes : l’image réalité et l’image de mode.

Les « faces cachées de Karl » nous touchent justement parce qu’elles ne sont que survolées. Elles ne pourront jamais être révélées. Il est vain de croire pouvoir passer sous cette surface car elle est l’essence même de la vie de Karl Lagerfeld. Sa vie est une œuvre : Il a créé son image et a fusionné avec elle.